Agios Prokopios is a traditional village on a hill in central Corfu, at a height of 440 metres, just a few kms off Corfu town and the airport. It consists of approximately 400 permanent residents and a history of at least 700 years . The village was renamed lately as for centuries it was known as Psoraroi or Psorarou.
Agios Prokopios is a representative sample of the Corfiot architecture, met in the small neighbourhoods with the pure traditional features. A walk through these neighbourhoods will give you the chance to enjoy the local rural architecture.
The village is well known for its churches: Agios Vasilios, since 1511, Agia Triada and Agii Pantes, since 1745 and Agios Prokopios since the 16th century. This church was destroyed by fire early in the 19th century and was re-built in 1937.
The point of interest in Agios Prokopios is an olive tree at the south-eastern part of the hill in the village, which is probably the oldest and the biggest olive tree on the island with a 19 mtrs trunk.
Sport & Nature
Activities are limited and a hired car is highly recommended.
Someone can experience fantastic walks through the olive grove and tiny trails towards the unspoiled hills.
There is no nightlife in Agios Prokopios. Just a short walk of ten minutes away is Kastellanoi, a bigger community with super markets, tavernas, bars and facilities which cannot be found in Agios Prokopios.
In alternative a ten minutes drive will lead you to Corfu town where all types of night life can be found.
Culture and History
The name is more recent than the village itself, as for more than 550 years it was known as Psoraroi or Psorarou. On 1936, the residents demanded that it is renamed, because the old name reminded of Psoriasis , and they felt offended by this. In various texts from as early as 1381, references can be found to the village as Psorarci, while in a 1497 document, it's called the "village of Psoraraioi".
Just a ten minutes drive is the world wide famous Achilion Palace.
The Achilleion Palace was built by Empress of Austria Elisabeth of Bavaria, also known as Sisi, in 1890, as a summer palace in the region of Gastouri.
The palace was designed by Italian architect Raffaele Caritto. Ernst Herter, a famous German sculptor, was commissioned to create works inspired from Greek mythology. His famous sculpture Dying Achilles, created in Berlin in 1884 as inscribed in the statue, forms the centrepiece of the Achilleion Gardens.
Achilion has been used in recent times for the European summit meetings in 1994 and in 2003 and lately it has been used as a museum with hundreds of thousands visitors annualy.