Peristeronas is a mountainous picturesque village bordered by one side by Paphos Forest, approx. 48 kms away from Paphos International Airport or 10 minutes drive from the Polis town.
The countryside around Peristeronas remains virgin and the hills are scattered with olive trees, vines, wild flowers, fruit trees and herbs.
The views from this traditional village are amazing with the Evretou Dam glistening in front of you and the Akamas peninsula stretching out, behind it, at a 500 meters above the sea level.
The name Peristerona came out from the Greek word: “peristeri” which means pigeon, as in bygone years thousands of these birds were nestling in the nearby Atichoulli Gorge (Eagles gorge).
In nowadays the traditional character of the village is the main attraction for visitors. This is the reason that the locals had been encouraged by the local council to renovate their old stone houses, without washing their beauty out and any new developers are also persuaded to build houses using the local stone.
Approaching the village the magnificent building housing Byzantine Museum of Arsinoe can not be missed as well as the church of St. Mamas, built on 1911.
Walking down the winding and narrow streets someone can see restored stone houses mingling with crumbling ruins and buildings abandoned, by locals who emigrated to South Africa when the local economy declined.
Sport & Nature
Peristeronas is a quiet resort and nightlife is limited although a few bars are spreaded in the area.
Culture and History
Until the 13th century, the ecclesiastical area of Paphos consisted of two separate dioceses - the diocese of Arsinoe, which was situated where is now located Polis town and the diocese of Paphos.
During the Frankish occupation the diocese of Arsinoe was abolished and joined the diocese of Paphos.
The diocese was re-established recently in 1996.
The museum was a joint effort by the bishops of these two dioceses to present the history and the work of the Church of Arsinoe. The museum houses a collection of more than 60 icons dating from the 13th to the 19th century. Also on display, there are wood carvings, metal artworks, sacerdotal vestments, embroideries and several manuscripts sating back to 1551.
The grounds of the museum feature an olive press and several stone features representing various saints.